Chennai thrash Bangalore to retain IPL title

Chennai Super Kings Captained by the Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has defeated the Bangaluru Royal Challengers in the Indian Premier League final at the MA Chidambaram stadium on Saturday night. At no stage, the Bangaluru team appeared to be a match to the Chennai team. Chennai had gone into the final with an unbeaten record, having not lost in seven matches at Chepauk. Add to that other factors, like home advantage, crowd support, pressure of batting second et al were disadvantageous to the Bangalore team which lost by a big margin. Dhoni won the toss and whatever happened in the three hours that followed seemed perfectly scripted for the home team. The Chennai openers, Michael Hussey (63) and Murali Vijay (95), put on 159 runs (in just 89 runs) in an impressive display of controlled aggression to all but seal Bangalore’s fate. Chennai Super Kings went on to score 205 for five in their stipulated 20 overs, the highest total ever registered in an IPL final. And R Ashwin (three for 16) ensured the home team a perfect start with the ball, dismissing the in-form Chris Gayle for a third-ball duck. The dismissal of Chris Gayle who is in tremendous and threatening form in the first over itself shook off the confidence of the Bangaloru team. Chasing a near impossible task, Bangalore could muster only 147 for eight. For Chennai, it was a successful defence of the title they won last year. They won by a massive 58-run margin, and in front of their home fans. As regards Bangalore, who were so impressive during the tournament, it was as if everything went wrong on the day when it mattered the most. Gayle scored 608 runs (@ 67.55) winning the Orange Cap, awarded to the tournament’s highest scorer, and the Player of the tournament honours and took eight wickets to take them to nine wins in the 12 matches he played. However, in the three matches he failed, Bangalore too failed. Unfortunately, one of them happened to be the final!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: