Sriharikota, July 15 (NSS): PSLV C 17 was successfully launched from the Indian Space Research Centre here at 1648 hrs on Friday. The rocket has completed all the four stages successfully.

            The rocket carried GSAT-12 Communication satellite with a mass of 1410 kg at lift-off, has 12 Extended C-band transponders. PSLV-C17 will inject GSAT-12 into an elliptical Transfer Orbit (Sub-GTO) of 284 km perigee and 21,000 km apogee. Subsequently, the Liquid Apogee Motor of the satellite will be used to raise both apogee and perigee of the Satellite to place it in a circular orbit of 36,000 km altitude.

All the four stages of the launch vehicle have been fully assembled at the Vehicle Assembly Building at Shriharikota.

GSAT-12 satellite has already undergone necessary testing at Shriharikota before commencing the filling of propellants in the Satellite on June 28, 2011. On July 3, 2011, GSAT-12 Satellite is planned to be integrated with PSLV-C17 vehicle at the Vehicle Assembly Building, after clearance by the Launch Authorisation Board.

ISRO Chairman Mr. Radha Krishnan has told the media that the G-Sat 12 has reached its specified orbit successfully. This is the first launch after Mr. Radha Krishnan assumed charge as ISRO Chairman. With the successful launch, the happiness of the scientists of ISRO knew no bounds. They hugged and congratulated each other.

The Rs.200 crore satellite would further improve communications in education, telephone and telemedicine services.

Wednesday’s satellite launch was the 18th launch of PSLV, which has an impressive track record of 16 uninterrupted successes. The PSLV is carrying remote sensing satellite Resourcesat-2 and two mini satellites.

The launch vehicle has placed in polar sun synchronous orbit the 1206-kg Resourcesat-2, 92-kg Youthsat and 106-kg X-sat satellites 822 km above Earth.

The PSLV C16 launch was very important for ISRO as the organisation had experienced two back-to-back failures in 2010. The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle plunged down into the Bay of Bengal. ISRO’s four satellites failed in 2010. (NSS)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: