Hyderabad, Aug.22 : As announced 29 MLAs, including 26 belonging to the ruling Congress on Monday resigned from the State Assembly as well was the party to reaffirm their loyalty to late YSR and unstinted support to Kadapa MP Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Three other legislators – N. Prasanna Kumar Reddy and Bala Nagi Reddy, both rebel TDP members, and Shoba Nagi Reddy of PRP— have also submitted their resignations.

Along with these 29 legislators, who are all Jagan supporters, two Congress MPs, Mekapati  Rajamohan Reddy and Sabbam Hari, have also resigned from their posts by faxing their resignation letters to the Lok Sabha Speaker Miera Kumar.

In the absence of both the Assembly Speaker Mr. Nadendla Manohar and the Deputy Speaker Mr. Batti Vikramarka, who were away in their respective constituencies, the legislators submitted their resignation letter in the Speaker’s format to the Legislature Secretary.

While the two rebel TDP members were first to reach the Assembly premises and submitted their resignation letters, the other 26 Congress and one PRP legislators arrived together in a bus to submit their resignations. Earlier they proceeded from the YSR Congress Party Office in Jubilee Hills to Panjagutta Cross Roads and paid their obeisance to the statue of late YSR and then reached the Assembly premises.

A large number of YSR Congress party workers followed the legislators in a procession and chanted slogans.

The 26 Congress legislators wh0o had resigned from the Assembly have also faxed their letters of resignation from the primary membership of the party to the APCC President Mr. Botcha Satyanarayana in Gandhi Bhavan.

Incidentally while the 26 Congress legislators submitted their resignations from the Assembly and the party, 16 legislators belonging to the PRP were admitted to the Congress in the presence of Mr. Chiranjeevi, who was celebrating his birthday today. He took the Congress membership the previous day in New Delhi in the presence of AICC General Secretary Mr. Rahul Gandhi.

Ironically it was on the same day three years back on his birthday, Mr. Chiranjeevi, the film star donned the political avatar by launching Praja Rajyam Party at a gala event in Tirupathi.

After submitting their resignations, Mr. Pilla Subashchandra Bose, a former minister, at a media conference read out the contents of their letters of resignation from the primary membership of the Congress. In the letter the legislators stated that they were forced to take the extreme step because of blatant attempts of the Congress leadership and the state government in trying to not only erase the name of late YSR from the annals of the state but also trying to tarnish and defame him by making the CBI to name him as an accused.

After resigning the Jagan supporters left by a special flight to Renigunta en route to Idupulapaya in Kadapa district to pay homage at the Samadhi of late YSR. They are also expected to meet and discuss the future plan of action.
The State Congress leadership was desperately trying to keep its flock together and prevent those loyal to late YSR from deserting the party, claimed Mrs. Konda Surekha, a former minister.

An ardent loyalist of late YSR and staunch supporter and follower of Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, she is among the 26 Congress legislators who had resigned from the Assembly as well as the party.

Speaking to the media after paying homage to late YSR by garlanding his statue at Panjagutta Cross Roads today, Ms. Surekha asserted that there was no coercion or pressure on those who had resigned ion support of Jagan. As a matter of fact the comments of APCC President Mr. Botcha Satyanarayana amply proved that the party leadership was in jitters and mounting pressure on the legislators loyal to late YSR from jumping into the Jagan bandwagon.

Ms. Surekha further pointed out that no where in the manifesto of the YSR Congress party there was anything anti-Telangana. Once Jagan steps into Telangana, the YSR Congress party would establish itself as a force to reckon with in the region, she claimed and  added with both the Congress and TDP becoming non entity in the region, it would be fight for supremacy between the YSR Congress and TRS in Telangana.

Referring to the claims of the Congress leadership that there was no threat to the Kiran Kumar Reddy government in the wake of the resignations by the Jagan loyalists, Ms. Surekha felt that this amply proved that Congress and TDP are hand in glove and hence the confidence about the survival of the government. (NSS).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: